LSBU banner

LSBU Head of Adult Nursing Anthony McGrath short-listed for Cavell Nurses’ Trust Award

Anthony McGrath, Head of Adult Nursing and Midwifery Studies at LSBU’s School of Health and Social Care, has been shortlisted for a Cavell Nurses' Trust Award 2017
28 April 2017

Anthony McGrath, Head of Adult Nursing and Midwifery Studies at LSBU’s School of Health and Social Care (HSC), has been shortlisted for the Outstanding QARANC Reservist Clinical Professional Development Award as part of the Cavell Nurses’ Trust Awards 2017.

Anthony has been nominated in the ‘Outstanding Nursing Reservist’ of the year category for his long years of service providing medical support to her Majesty’s Armed Forces - at home and overseas.

More than 279 talented nurses entered this year’s awards and 42 have made it to the final round.

Responding to news of his award nomination, Anthony said: “I am absolutely delighted to hear that my nursing work both home and overseas has been recognised. It’s been an absolute honour for me to serve as a Nursing officer in Her Majesty’s Armed Forces, often in extremely difficult and perilous conditions, including war zones like Iraq and Afghanistan. Hearing news of this prestigious award is encouraging and heartening and means a lot to me.”

Warren Turner, LSBU’s Dean of the School of HSC, said: “I am thrilled to hear that Anthony has been nominated for a prestigious Cavell Nurses’ Trust award. The Cavell Nurses’ Trust awards celebrate the outstanding contribution that UK nurses bring to the profession and the impact their hard work has on those they care for.

“Anthony sets a fine example to our nursing students through his practice during a long career as a nursing reservist supporting Her Majesty’s Armed Forces.  We are very lucky to have a nurse practitioner of his calibre teaching our students at LSBU.”

In addition to Anthony’s McGrath’s nomination, Sinead Wolsoncroft, one of LSBU’s student nurses, has been shortlisted for this year’s Outstanding Academic Achievement Award.

Finalists have been invited to an evening ceremony taking place at the Grand Connaught Rooms in London on 22 June, where the winner will be announced.