Sustainability Steering Group

The Sustainability Steering Group

The Sustainability and Climate Change Steering Group (SSG) oversees the development and implementation of the sustainability and climate change agenda across the LSBU Group. It is a forum for collaborative working and consultation, and it provides guidance and advice to the LSBU Group on matters of sustainability and climate change through teaching and learning, research and innovation, administration, and engagement with government and local authorities, industry and the LSBU Group's local communities.

The SSG reports to the LSBU Group Executive and has delegated authority to make decisions according to its terms of reference (DOCX File 29 KB).

It has representatives from across the LSBU Group:

  • James Stevenson,  Group Secretary (Chair)
  • George Ofori,  Group Sustainability Lead
  • Ian Rule,  Chief Executive at South Bank Colleges
  • Agyei Smith,  Operations Manager at South Bank Academies
  • Rachel Mundy, Students Union representative (x1)
  • Devonte James, South Bank Students Union President
  • Richard Poulson,  Group Deputy Director of Estates and Academic Environment (Operations)
  • Helen Powell,  Head of Creative Technologies Division (school of ACI), Senior academic school representative (x2)
  • Jaya Gajparia,  Senior Lecturer of Sociology (school of LSS), Senior academic school representative (x2)
  • Patrick Callaghan,  Associate PVC (Research)
  • Ajay Bhosle,  Head of Procurement
  • Laurence Evans,  Representative of Strategy, Planning and Performance team (x1)
  • TBC,  Marketing or branding team representative (x1)
  • Dominique Phipp,  Governance Officer (and administrator of the SSG)