LSBU banner

LSBU academic elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts

London South Bank University social sciences lecturer Edwin Shaw has had the illustrious honour of being elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts
24 March 2014

Home to some of the greatest thinkers of our time, the Royal Society of Arts was founded in 1754 as the first organisation in Britain to support the arts and sciences.

Notable members include Charles Dickens, Judi Dench, Benjamin Franklin, Karl Marx, William Hogarth and Stephen Hawking.

The society prides itself on being an "enlightenment organisation" and members are elected to the Fellowship based on their contribution to society within the arts.

"I am very proud to become part of such an innovative body as the RSA," says Edwin. "I look forward to working with other Fellows to develop new ideas and solutions to problems."

Edwin was nominated for his contribution to social sciences and ongoing interest in the subject. In recognition of his dedication to teaching he also won the LSBU Student Union's inaugural 'Outstanding Lecturer Award' in 2013.

"I have learned a lot from my colleagues at LSBU and I enjoy teaching students," says Edwin. "They are lively and often inspiring."

Learn more about social sciences at LSBU