London South Bank University (LSBU) is congratulating its alumni on their election successes and ministerial appointments following the 2017 General Election.  

Two alumni have joined the House of Commons for the first time following the General Election with Marsha De Cordova, a current Lambeth councillor, winning the seat of Battersea and Enfield councillor Bambos Charalambous taking Enfield, Southgate.

The Government’s ministerial reshuffle has also seen LSBU alumni Anne Milton, a registered nurse who was previously a nursing student at LSBU’s School of Health and Social Care appointed as the new Skills Minister at the Department for Education and Lord Tariq Ahmad of Wimbledon appointed Minister of State at the Foreign and Common Wealth Office.

Commenting on the results, Prof Dave Phoenix, LSBU's Vice Chancellor said: “I want to congratulate all of our alumni on their election successes and wish them the best of luck with their terms and ministerial appointments. I am pleased to see that we have elected the most diverse Parliament to date with more women, LGBT, BAME and state-school educated MPs than ever before.”

Other alumni who were re-elected to the Commons include: Lilian Greenwood MP for Nottingham South, Yasmin Querishi MP for Bolton South East, Joan Ryan MP for Enfield North and Barry Sheerman MP for Huddersfield.

Read more LSBU alumni success stories.