People finder

Neil Brimblecombe

Neil Brimblecombe

Professor of Mental Health

  • School/Division:
    Health and Social Care / Mental Health and Learning Disability

Neil Brimblecombe is Professor of Mental Health in the Health and Social Care Department of London South Bank University. He has worked on the Boards of several mental health organisations in the UK, in Director of Nursing, Chief Operating Officer and Non-Executive Director roles, including Director of Nursing for South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust. He was Director of Mental Health Nursing for the English Department of Health, where he led a national review of that profession and which resulted in changes in both practice and training. Neil has worked clinically in a range of mental health services in and around London, specialising in Crisis and Home Treatment services.

Neil completed his PhD research on crisis/home treatment services and edited the first book published in the UK on crisis services. He has published widely, his long term research interests include international approaches to mental health care, new professional roles and the history of mental health care. Current research work includes that on the introduction of e-technology in mental health care, attitudes of health professionals towards smoking and his fourth national survey of mental health nurse prescribing. Neil has been a member and chair of a number of national and regional expert mental health groups. Neil was recognized as one of the most influential nurse leaders in the 70 years of the NHS by the RCN Institute in 2018.

View my publications at


  • Non-Executive Director – Barnet, Enfield and Haringey Mental Health NHS Trust
  • Mental Health Clinical Lead – London Urgent and Emergency Care Collaborative
  • Chair - Policy and Practice Standing Group, Mental Health Nurse Academics UK
  • Member - Suicide Prevention Reference Group, Thrive London

Previous roles

  • Chair – ‘Effective, Safe and Compassionate Services’ Expert Advisory Group, National Collaborating Centre for Mental Health, 2017-18
  • Chair – National Mental Health Nurse Directors’ Forum, 2012-15
  • Chair – Non Medical Prescribing Advisory Group, National Institute for Mental Health, 2004-6
  • Member – Advocacy Advisory Group, Independent Review of the Mental Health Act, 2018